Liebster Award

Liebster 4

My goodness, it’s taken me far too long to get round to doing this!  Hectic month!

Firstly my thanks go to ‘theredeemerlives’ at Undergroundvoices (a blog well worth checking out, by the way) who took the time to nominate me for this Liebster thingamajig in the first place.  It was/is a real lift to my spirits … thanks again.

Here are the bloggers I’d like to nominate and encourage readers to check out:

Echoes and Stars

That story girl

The Evangelical Liberal

This Fragile Tent

Thoughts of a Recovering Seminarian

What Matters to God

Worn to won

Now, there’s some disparity when you research Liebster award rules, as to the number of followers the blogs you nominate are supposed to have … numbers range from under 200 to under 3,000.  Given that these next few have more than two hundred followers, I’m going for the upper end!!

The long way home – prodigal Paul

Reluctant Xtian

Now, on with the questions set by theredeemerlives …

On a scale of 1-10, how much do you enjoy running?

Well, that’d be a 1 – if the good Lord had meant me to run, he :-

  1. Would not have seen fit to allow me to be an asthmatic!
  2. Wouldn’t have allowed for the invention of the internal combustion engine!
  3. Robbed all my stamina and replaced it with lethargy!

To be fair, I ran just about everywhere as a kid, but not much since I broke my ankle running after my son when he was two!

If you could go back in time and live in any decade of the 20th century, which would it be and why?

The 60’s I think; to me it does seem as though it was a mostly optimistic forward thinking, and somewhat naïve decade, plus the music was great!

What is one embarrassing memory you have from adolescence?

My adolescence was one great embarrassment!  Without naming the innocent, the girl I pined after for the bulk of High School is probably a better person to ask!!!

What is one important factor that has shaped your beliefs / outlook on life?

Other than my bruised and careworn faith?  Probably being a sufferer of depression at various times has (perversely?) made me value people a lot more, and things a little less.

What is one stupid movie you’ve seen and enjoyed against your better judgment?

Last one was probably Pacific Rim – Giant Robots Beating Up Even Bigger Monsters!  What’s not to like?

How do you feel about social media in general (other than blogging), banal or beneficial?

Social media can, at its best, give people (with internet access) a voice, outside of the established print or broadcast media; in the main this is a good thing!  Social media can highlight things like Mary’s Meals – via Martha Payne’s NeverSeconds blog and can also help unearth/recognise gems like Jon Gomm, for instance.

Problem is, as with the print and broadcast media, it seems that people with the largest mouths and the least to actually say, say the most and shout the loudest … can we please just ban CAPS LOCK!!!!!!?

If you could be doing anything in the world right now, what would it be?

Skiing – down the Streif at Hahnenkamm if my legs (and nerves) would stand it!

In the event of an apocalypse / total economic meltdown (because really, how often do people get stranded on deserted islands?), what three vegetables (yes, vegetables) would you bring?

Vegetables?  Really?  Well, okay then … (Really? Vegetables?) … Potatoes – you can cook ‘em in a gazillion ways.   Onions – naturally antiseptic/antibacterial apparently.  Chili peppers – make anything palatable.

Is there extraterrestrial life?

To be honest, I don’t really care – my feeling is we’d be better of wondering how to look after life here rather than looking into the sky and waiting for ET to stop by.  Statistics and probability would say that yes, there is; mind you, that pesky speed of light thing seems to imply that any intelligent species is going to be a loooooooong time getting here!

What is your favorite cartoon from back in the day, and would you be willing to transport yourself into it?

Hong Kong Phooey!  He was the number one super guy!  Having said that, I must admit I’d be more inclined to transport myself into the Hair Bear Bunch and have a go on that invisible motorbike!!

Right, my 10 questions for my nominees … try to avoid one word answers if you can!

What is the most beautiful thing you’ve seen?

Who is your favourite comedian, and why?

If you could nominate a current/recent TV show as a future classic, which one would you pick, and why?

Politicians or Lawyers.  Who do you mistrust more?

Censorship – a good idea, or not?

What’s the best thing about where you live?

Which book do you find yourself returning to the most, and what is it that keeps you coming back?

Cats or Dogs?

What has surprised you most (in a good/pleasant/not jumping out at you in a terrifying manner way) this week, and why?

In the event of ‘First Contact’ with an alien race (who would, obviously speak perfect English like they do in outer space!) – which living person would you pick as our best representative?

Have fun with the questions, and enjoy nominating others … check out the blogs I nominated too.

Normal (?) service to be resumed soon.

Liebster 3

One response to “Liebster Award

  1. Well thanks very much! I am indecently pleased! Love your blog too- and remember the beginning of a chat at CCF thar should have been much longer. Hopefully we can rectify that at some point.

Leave a Reply

